This event will be hosted as an online experience in an effort to keep our community healthy during the coronavirus pandemic. Details coming soon!

2020 Hope Gala

May 16, 2020, San Francisco, CA
5:30 pm

Honoring Co-Directors of the JDRF Northern California Center of Excellence: Dr. Matthias Hebrok, Ph.D., UCSF, and Seung Kim, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford

The Hope Gala is JDRF’s most high profile networking opportunity and most successful annual fundraiser in the Greater Bay Area. Over 20 years, this inspiring celebration has raised over $25 million in support of JDRF and type 1 diabetes (T1D) research. This Black tie event includes a cocktail reception, presentation of the Living & Giving Award, a spectacular live auction and Fund A Cure program, gourmet dinner, music and dancing. With over 500 attendees, the Hope Gala is a fun and meaningful event that offers supporters the opportunity to be socially conscious community leaders who help turn Type One into Type None.


Ways to Give

Fund A Cure

Fund A Cure immediately follows the Live Auction portion of the evening. Fund A Cure is an opportunity to make an impact on the lives of people living with T1D and their loved ones through a 100% tax-deductible donation, which will accelerate life-changing research. Fund A Cure donations will be invested in JDRF’s effective and focused research agenda aimed to progressively remove the impact of T1D from people’s lives until there is a cure.

  • Click here to purchase a table.

  • Click here to purchase a hospitality sponsorship.

  • Click here to donate an auction item.

  • Click here to purchase individual tickets.

  • Click here to purchase a program journal ad.

Past Honorees

2019- Laura and Mark Hawkins
2018- The Kurtzig Family
2017- Jennifer and Sean Jeffries
2016- Chara Schreyer
2015- Dayton Coles and Pam Sagan
2014- Gretchen de Baubigny
2013- Wells Fargo
2012- Dr. Anthony P. Adamis and Dr. Napoleone Ferrara of Genentech
2011- David and Joan O’Reilly
2010- Pitch and Cathie Johnson
2009- Dr. Saleh Adi, Dr. Stephen E. Gitelman, Dr. Bruce Buckingham, and Dr. Darrell M. Wilson
2008- Charles and Ann Johnson
2007- Philip C. Stapleton and Conifer Securities, LLC
2006- John and Nancy Lasseter
2005- Robert N. Klein
2004- Dr. Michael German and Dr. Seung K. Kim
2003- Susan and Jonathan Bloom, Pamela and Stephen Mittel
2002- Jane and Bobby Kahan
2001- Dr. Jeffrey Bluestone
2000- Will Weinstein and Elana Weinstein
1999- Genentech

Hope Gala Leadership

2020 Honorary Co-Chairs
Tom & Staci Reilly

2020 Hope Gala Committee 
Amy Lewis, Co-Chair
Jennifer Jeffries. Co-Chair

Masha Barak
Mara Bonelli
Carolyn Cohan
Stacey Dillon
Ardy Johnson
Kwala Mandel
Leslie Mulholland
Corinne Murdock
Debbie Tanguay
Brei Tobin


The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

600 Stockton Street
San Francisco, CA 94108

Event Contact

Myra Sanders-Lyle
415-597-6319 |

More from the Greater Bay Area Chapter

Chapter Homepage