2019 Promise Ball

May 3, 2019, Detroit, MI
6:00 pm

Honoring Ambassador Ron & Mrs. Eileen Weiser
Presented by Ford Motor Company

Join us as we turn the MGM Detroit into the Emerald City to create a world without type 1 diabetes!

Event Details


Presenting Sponsor



Jane Jospey Cobb Promise Award 2019 Recipients: Ambassador Ron and Mrs. Eileen Weiser

This award is in memory of Jane L. Jospey Cobb, a founding member of the JDRF-Metro Detroit & S.E. MI Chapter who, through her outstanding service, enabled the chapter to raise millions of dollars for diabetes research.  She is remembered as a courageous woman whose remarkable dedication, passion for research and indomitable spirit continue to be an inspiration to all.

Jane was one of the founding members and past board president of the Metro Detroit Chapter.  Jane died in 1997 at the age of 53 from diabetes complications.  Diagnosed with type 1 diabetes (T1D) at the age of 20 months, she lost her sight at age 23.  Jane has two daughters, Allison and Annie and was married to Robert Cobb.

Jane was a graduate of the University of Michigan.    She was a dynamic individual with a terrific memory, mathematically inclined and always ready to learn something new.  She enjoyed all the gadgets that have been developed to assist the blind in their daily living.

She opened a boutique in the Somerset Mall specializing in travel items.  Later she operated a specialty upscale gift basket store in the Prudential Town Center.  In her late forties, Jane became a student in Detroit Receiving Hospital’s Visually Handicapped Services Program.  She was anticipating going back to school to earn a Master’s degree in English and Psychology and wanted to be up-to-date on the latest technology available to assist the blind.  Jane died before she could realize these goals.

The award is presented to individuals and/or corporations who have distinguished themselves in advancing the mission of JDRF through their support of research and education about research.

Past Honorees

Past Recipients:

2018: Bill & Vivienne Young

2017: Pat & Carolyn McNamara

2016: Grant & Susan Beard

2015: N/A (Lifetime Award given to Cynthia Ford)

2014: Marvin & Lauren Daitch

2013: Thomas Sr. & Jackie McInerney

2012: Ron & Carol Dooley

2011: Tim & Jean Jennings

2010:  Mrs. Rita C. Haddow

2009 : Mr. Martin Shoushanian

2008: Cynthia & Edsel B. Ford II

2007: Mr. Jim Queen

2006:  David and Jennifer Fischer

2005:  Mr. Jack Haire

2004:  Mr. James A. Hiller

2003:  Heart of Gold – Marilyn Berman

2002:  Heart of Gold – Estelle & Philip Elkus

2001:  Heart of Gold – Betty Collens

2000:  Heart of Gold – Helen & Norman Wachler


MGM Grand Detroit

1777 3rd Avenue
Detroit, MI 48226

Event Contact

Jessie Jimenez-Schlicht, Development Director
248-936-1281 | jjimenez@jdrf.org